C4 Forums | Control4

Help sending commands to C4 from driver B via driver A

First, admittedly I am a newbie here...

I have written 2 drivers.

Driver A speaks with C4 just fine.

I want Driver B to send commands to Driver A, that will then simply pass them off to C4.

Follow me here?

Driver B shall not talk directly to C4, but do so via Driver A

Any ideas how to script this?

Thanks in advance :)

C4:SendToDevice(idDevice, strCommand, tParams)

This will send a devicecommand (a command string and a Lua table of parameters) from this driver ('Driver A') to the driver with Device ID idDevice ('Driver B').

To get the Device ID of 'Driver B', you could make a DEVICE_SELECTOR type property, which would allow the installer to select the device.

In 'Driver B', you will get the sent command via the ExecuteCommand function.

RyanE

BTW, if these devices have a relationship like a 'gateway' <-> many other devices that talk through the gateway, this is not the right way to do it. i.e. like a Lighting Control driver, etc.

It's better in that case to make a 'network' driver, which has a control binding, and all the 'sub-devices' would also have the same control binding, which would allow them to talk through the 'network' driver.

If you're interested in that info, PM me.

RyanE

• 6 years later...

old thread but...

I seem to be unable to get a return value from the C4:SendToDevice function - API docs say "... return value is the value returned by the device driver's ExecuteCommand.  The default value returned is nil.  Return values are limited to string values"

When i check the return value from SendToDevice, it is always of type nil so it has never been initialized.  Otherwise, the API works, triggers Driver B's command - that returns a string (all confirmed by debug statements and log entries)

Thoughts?

I could get the return(s) async but likely calling several drivers so would really prefer to not keep track of all the return calls.

Thanks!