C4 Forums | Control4

Building New Control4 System - Must Haves

konieczn

Hey Guys,

I'm a rookie here, and am planning on doing a Control4 system in the house I'm building. I currently am planning on having Control4 take care of all of my AV setups (4 TVs, and in ceiling speakers in every room), so basically audio and video. I am planning on buying the HC-800 Controller, and the 8 Zone Matrix Amp to control the audio in each room.

I originally planned to just do the AV, but I find myself staring at all of the other other products Control4 offers.

If you could offer your opinion on what's one thing you would include, or splurge on to include within the Control4 system?

Whether that be a music bridge, in wall touch screens, lighting control, HVAC control, security integration, etc. Basically I'd like to hear what you guys see as dealers, installers, etc. some of the most common things users tend to come back and add, or tend to add in the initial setup.

Thank you for any responses I may receive.

Brian

I agree with @Gix656.  I can't imagine going back to a time without the light switches.  With the ability to add extra functionality to them they are super useful.

I personally don't see a real use for the music bridge.  I have all my music available on the network and supplement that with Rhapsody. 

I prefer to use a combination of my phone, remote or light switch to do anything that I'd do with the in wall touch screens.

It is nice to have your security system integrated.  I have a button on the keypad by my bed programmed to turn the house off and set the alarm.  I also have door locks integrated which works really well with that.

Lighting, at least exterior and common areas

Sonos for streaming services

Garage Door

Security - alarm system as well as cameras

^ Probably the most done in addition to AV