C4 Forums | Control4

New starter advice needed!

Burko

Hi,

I bought a second hand HC800 at the weekend and would like to manage it myself as much as possible but haven't got off to a great start...

As I'm new to C4 I could do with some basic advice / help. The controller is plugged in and showing the Power and Link lights, and is connected via my powerline network to my router. No other lights are showing.

But - I can't find the controller on my home network, and can't connect to it either via the iPhone C4 App (error code 403.22), or via the App on my MacBook.

I noticed that no IP address was showing when the controller was booting up.

Any advice would be much appreciated!!!

Thanks,

3 minutes ago, Burko said:

Hi,

I bought a second hand HC800 at the weekend and would like to manage it myself as much as possible but haven't got off to a great start...

As I'm new to C4 I could do with some basic advice / help. The controller is plugged in and showing the Power and Link lights, and is connected via my powerline network to my router. No other lights are showing.

But - I can't find the controller on my home network, and can't connect to it either via the iPhone C4 App (error code 403.22), or via the App on my MacBook.

I noticed that no IP address was showing when the controller was booting up.

Any advice would be much appreciated!!!

Thanks,

As I am not sure how much you looked into Control4 before buying the HC-800, much of it needs to be installed and configured by a dealer with the Composer Pro software. The controller likely has a blank project, and might even have an old static IP configured. You're going to need a Control4 dealer to configure that all for you, and add devices to it that you want to control.