C4 Forums | Control4

I am relatively new to the Control 4 system environment and is trying to help someone solve an amplifier issue. They have two 8 zone amps and one works just fine, from the same source. However the other one shuts down after about 10 seconds. All the zones will appear on the amp and music can be heard and then inexplicably it cuts off. Everything in on a UPS. Any suggestion on how to proceed with troubleshooting would be appreciated. Thanks.

I can check the fan as you suggested.

Is it reasonable to think that thermal protection would kick in at 10 seconds?

Is this a new amp. The 8 ch has a known fail point with the fans.

I'm thinking it is a POST check. Unlike a computer these happen later so you are not waiting for audio.

Which side of 2 years? How close to two years.

Http://Www.Control4.com/legal/warranty

These amps are warrantied for 2 years. They may also service it anyway as this is a known problem area.

http://www.cepro.com/article/control4_revamps_warranty_policy_training_marketing/#

indicates exchange should be straightforward.

Check in with your dealer for an rma no on it.

Source detection is not part of the design.

Any new information on this?  I just stated to have the exact same problem today right at my 2 year mark.

- If I’m playing in one room it will play for a few minutes before it cuts out

- If I’m playing in one room and try to add a couple additional rooms it will cut out pretty much right away.

- When it cuts out on the amp screen, all of the zone light up in red.

I have restarted the amp numerous times, which seems to reset the amp but it continues to happen again.

Any new information on this?  I just stated to have the exact same problem today right at my 2 year mark.