C4 Forums | Control4

Wiring relay to garage door opener

neil12011

Neil, if you want you can drop me a note and I will help walk you through it. It is pretty simple. The nice thing in 1.6 is the toggle and the sensor are one icon.

Long and the short, the garage opener is wired in tandem to a relay port on Card Access or the HC to toggle it opened or closed, and the garage door sensor is wired to the Card Access contact switch or HC contact port to display if the door is opened or closed.

When you add a garage door in composer you bind it to both the contact and relay.

Awesome, I guess I'm asking a which wire goes to what terminal type of deal...Because right now the garage door terminals have cat5 ran to them from the keypad on the wall (generic non control4)...can I piggyback those? I'm pretty new to wiring relays, so I guess that's what I'm asking. I appreicate the response!

Most garage door keypads only have 2 wires hooked up to them, even if they control both lights and garage door.

If you short the two contacts, the garage door will toggle (close if open, vice-versa).

You should connect those two contacts on the back of the garage door opener to the Common (C or COM) and Normally Open (NO) contacts on a contact/relay extender or CardAccess Contact/Relay device.

As far as the sensors go, here's how I've wired mine:

http://ericksonfamily.com/GarageDoor/

RyanE

inline, no.

They should be parallel. That is, if your keypad is connected to 2 terminals on the back of the garage door opener, your relays' Common (C or COM) and Normally Open (NO) terminals should be connected to those same 2 terminals.

CAT5 should work fine, although stranded is preferred because wiring like this does tend to move around, and solid CAT5 can break if flexed too much.

RyanE

• 1 year later...