C4 Forums | Control4

Cost Effective Remote Dealer?

Hisma

Obviously, we want the best but we don't want to pay top dollar for it.  My current dilemma is that I am buying a new home and spending a lot of money.  I went all out of pre-wiring my home for a very advanced distributed system.  My initial idea was to build a DIY system.  But at looking at what c4 can do, and the fact that my local dealer is able to offer it to me, I think it might be a path I can go.  

I am thinking of doing one of two things -

- acquiring gear on ebay, installing the hardware myself, and then hiring a remote programmer to do the initial work

- buying the hardware from a trusted dealer, installing it myself, then hiring a remote or local programmer to do the initial work

I honestly want a system I can fully maintain myself.  I am a controls engineer by trade, and I have been doing industrial automation for nearly a decade now.  I do home automation as a hobby, and I am not intimidated at all for having to set up a rack and switches etc.  However, I also understand that many people do this for a living, and even though I could learn the capabilities of the system, it is still no replacement for bringing in someone that knows the ins and outs of this system and can program it properly to get the most out of it.  

So, is there a solution for someone in my situation?  Could someone sell me the hardware without crazy markups for installation costs, but still be willing to do some remote programming?

• 2 weeks later...

I have used two different guys here on the forum. @AK1 and @StroTek LLC -- I could not be happier with both. I exclusively used AK1 for a while, but StroTek, while not a local dealer, is close enough that I can visit face to face if needed or pickup hardware. I am very happy with StroTek.

I would recommend getting at least a base system installed by a reputable dealer.

I did exactly what you mentioned "