C4 Forums | Control4

Network Hardware

bkays

Question

I'm currently in the process of building a house and will be installing C4. I've already pre-wired the crap out of it, much more than I needed per my integrator, but better safe than sorry. Anyway, I'm a software engineer and I'm pretty good with electronics, however I haven't dabbled into the hardware end in a while. At my previous home I didn't need much more than a mid tier best buy wireless router.

I've been doing a bunch of research, and I'm thinking of going with the Ubiquity router (ER3-Lite), their switch (either the unifi or edge w/ POE - haven't decided yet), and their Unify AC AP Pro. I'm not quite sure how many APs I'll need as this is my first time using them, but I've wired each floor for one.  Are there any do's and don'ts when it comes to network hardware and C4? I know its recommended to use an unmanaged switch,  but from what I read that saves the integrator time to set everything up and not all integrators have enough experience with managed switches to know what to do. That shouldn't be a problem for me, although I have no problem using an unmanaged switch.

Is there any reason to stay away from the Ubiquity stuff for C4, or does anyone have a better recommendation?

Also I read to try to keep it to one switch. Unfortunately with the amount of POE devices I have planned I'm not sure if I can get a switch with enough POE power to handle it. I have planned to get a second small switch mostly to use for POE stuff. Is there a reason it's recommended to not use more than one switch as long as I keep the controllers plugged into the main one?

Thanks!

10 answers to this question

6 hours ago, bkays said: