C4 Forums | Control4

2017 Thoughts for Control4

mic2010

Happy New Year to all!

I'm an end user and my prospective might be very different from a dealer. But here are my New Years thoughts for Control4 from a users perspective! 

I have been using Control4 for about 8 years and I am ready to abandon ship for the much better options and value that are hitting the market. I'm extremely tired of hardware failures and upgrade problems, not to mention the nickle and dimming that Control4 has gotten away with for years. 

The light at the end of the tunnel is a train! Your business model is going to be be similar to Polaroid if you don't treat your customers better and start providing much better value in your hardware and services.

With Amazon, Google, Apple, Nest, Ecobee and hundreds of smart home devices hitting the market it is entirely possible that Control4 goes down the tubes sooner than later.

Now that most consumers have smart phones, having a few apps to control their home devices is not a big deal and the Control4 integration is no longer worth the huge expense.

Just my thought to start the new year!

• Replies 490
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Happy New Year to you. From a dealer stand point, good luck to you. C4 doesn't nickel and dime. They have a price for the part and then for 4sight. They have even started including mounting and other items into the purchase of the product. So if you are being nickeled and dimmed, look at your dealer or most likely the way you are integrating. Buying and installing one or few items at a time versus having an integrator install the whole package at once will be more costly to the end user. But what do I know, I'm just the guy who installs it. Good luck to you in 2017 and beyond.

13 hours ago, mic2010 said:

With Amazon, Google, Apple, Nest, Ecobee and hundreds of smart home devices hitting the market it is entirely possible that Control4 goes down the tubes sooner than later.