C4 Forums | Control4

New to Control 4

BillyBKC

I am new to Control4 so please forgive me if my questions are dumb or have been answered a million times on here.

I am in the process remodeling a home and have it down to the studs.  I have run speaker wire, Cat 5, and Cat 6 from all speakers and TVs to an area in my basement that I think I will rack everything if I go with Control 4.  I want Control 4 but the cost may be above my budget.  To try and get Control 4 in my budget I have been looking at less expensive pieces that work with Control 4 (Insteon Switches, etc).  

Question 1: While I have my walls open is there anything that you would do, besides run speaker wire, Cat 5, Cat 6?

Questions 2: What cost cutting hardware items would you recommend? I am looking for recommendations on the following: light switches , HDMI 4k Audio matrix, door locks, light bulbs, etc

Thanks for your time in advance and sorry for the elementary questions.  

for locks I'd stay with C4 stuff.  I am having issues with some Kwikset locks, but I seem to be in the minority.  Yale and Baldwin I think have options too.

There are tons of Matrix available for video, the good ones, C4 or non C4, are expensive.  Why do you need a matrix?  Is it possible to get Tivo and put a few Tivo minis behind tvs?  Maybe get some Fire TV or Roku sticks as well behind each tv?  Now you are talking $100's vs $1,000's.  I have a matrix from the get go of my C4 implementation.  There are 1-2 small benefits I get with my IP matrix, mostly text on screen and video on screen, so if someone rings a doorbell I can see on my TV who is at the front door.  if I had to do it over, I would likely nix the Matrix and just get local hardware at each set top.  Now that streaming is so strong, I have not put a disc in my blu ray player in over 2 years, I stream everything from Netflix, Amazon, my personal NAS, etc.