C4 Forums | Control4

Whole house C4 switch replacement - Advice please!!

AdamCMH

I'm new to Control 4 and have made a substantial investment in the system to do the audio and media in my house. Before I moved into this house I had a small Insteon system in my old house and found it to be very reliable, worked 99.9% of the time. I'm getting really close to investing into the C4 dimmers and switches in this house but want to be assured they are reliable. I'm looking at installing over 150 switches which are a combination of dimmers and remotes. I currently have an EA-5 controller. Can anyone give me any advice on the following:

1.) Does 150 switches push the limits of the system at all?

2.) Will that many switches cause light switch remotes to respond slow?

3.) How reliable are the switches? (IE. How often will the signal fail and not turn on the desired light?)

4.) What color is easier to match other "dumb" switches to "white" or "snow white"?

Thank you,
Adam 

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thank you Knowitall for the responce.

1.) I have an EA5

2.) As I understand it there are two types of switches DIMMERS which have a load and REMOTES which only remote control another dimmer. We would be using the remotes in a 3-way environment where only 1 dimmer is needed and 2 remote switches are used to control the dimmer. 

It's called an Auxiliary not a Remote.

Let's get one thing straight. 150 zigbee nodes in a perfect environment with no interference and a single wide open space would likely work. But, you don't live in a perfect environment. You will need 2-3 controllers running a mesh; maybe more, we have no idea though without seeing the layout of the house, the relationship between nodes, what the nodes are (locks and shades need special attention) and what other 2.4ghz devices are nearby. Let your dealer, hopefully proficient at zigbee mesh design figure it out for you...your job is to cut the check :)