C4 Forums | Control4

Begginers help

Hi all 

I was wondering if any one could help me with infomation or drawings please , i am thinking of installing a standard C4 tv n audio install but not really sure what i need i just want to watch any of my devices on upto 4 tvs n possible install speakers at a later date , its only a small house , im also an electrician so can install cables no problem , just want to know what the cheapest way of doing a standard install is

Thanks Dan  

Simply put at a minimum:

Run everything back to a central location, if that location is NOT where your outdoor feeds some in (cable, phone etc) run at least 4CAT6 and 4 Coax between the two locations.

Run 2 CAT6 wires from each TV location you may possibly want now or later

Run 2 CAT^ to any closets or other likely locations you may want local gear (Bluray players for easier access, or game systems

Run speakerwires to where you possible want speakers to be, for surround run at least the front to go down the wall even if initial intend is ceiling.

Run at 2-3 CAT6 to your/any garage/shop in addition to planned TVs or networking locations

And/or conduit for all the above

Run networking to one or two ceiling locations on each floor for best WiFi coverage if you can.

Now go over everything you've done, and try and think of any other locations where TV/sound would be nice down the line.

As for 'cheapest' - stop thinking that way and you'll end up a lot cheaper.

Hi

Thanks for replying to my post , i was hoping i could do the install with a 4x4 hdmi matrix switch and take a hdmi to each tv as the longest run to a tv is about 10 meters 30ft or do i need cat6 at each tv still , and which is the best control4 controller for the job please

Thanks Dan

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk