C4 Forums | Control4

C4 dimmer life expectancy

Cooper27

Question

6 answers to this question

13 minutes ago, Cooper27 said:

I am new to control4 and starting to expand my current system. Prior to buying several dozen switches, dimmers and key pads I was wondering what the expected service life of a C4 brand switch will be.

I wouldn't be able to tell you for sure but I know of a couple homes still using 1st generation Control4 dimmers/switches/keypads originally installed 10 years ago.  The newer 3rd gen are much better but they were released some time in 2013.  Time will tell.

All new Control4 equipment comes with a 2-year warranty, which if you're familiar with the failure rate curve for electronics, which is shaped roughly like the outline of a bathtub, with more failures early and very late, takes out the 'front end' of the bathtub.

After the first 2 years, it's unlikely to fail for many years.

The failure rate on Control4 current-generation dimmers is extremely low.

In my house, I had a couple of devices (I think it was one dimmer and one switch) fail in the first year or so, but they were all the original Gen1 devices.  Other than those, I don't think I've had any of my dimmers fail, and I have around 100 of them, most of which are still original Gen1 dimmers, and they've been installed and working daily for 12+ years.

The original Gen1 switches (less so the dimmers) tend to get a bit mechanically 'mushy' after 10 years of daily use, but they still work.  A handful of those in my house have now been replaced by Gen3 Fan Speed Controllers.

Like anything, they can wear out, but they're not as likely to electronically fail.

RyanE