C4 Forums | Control4

Control 4 new user

k3nnis

Hi All,

I'm new to this C4 stuff :) I'm from Australia. Hope someone can point me in the right direction.

Basically I would like to give C4 a try and maybe expand it later on. I have just moved into my new house.

I have cat6 points in most of my house. It's a double storey house. I also have a AC ubiquiti wifi AP.

All my cat 6 data points terminates in a network rack in my garage.

Whole house has been installed with LED 7W downlights.

My question is, can I purchase a EA1,3,5 to make it work for my setup? I don't want to spend thousands of dollars first up, would just like to get a feel of the system and perhaps expand in the future.

My setup:

I have a dedicated HT room with a JVC RS46/X35 projector, and a fixed screen. This room has 4 downlights. And a few devices like BD player, apple tv, tv tuner etc. Can I have it so that the EA controller can make it so that I consolidate into 1 remote or even use my iPAD/iPhone to control all the devices plus activities? Also having it to turn off my downlights when movie is playing and perhaps have the lights come back on when movie is paused or not played. Currently my lights are just using a normal light switch with a dimmer for my HT room. With the lighting do I need to rewire everything?

I have a synology NAS which stores movies, music and photos

I was thinking just getting an EA1 to start off for the HT room.

I also have a lounge outside with a 75" samsung tv and various devices like xbox one, etc etc. 

I also have a sonos play1, will probably get another sonos play 1 for the master bedroom upstairs. 

I also have a panasonic VT60 plasma tv upstairs in the leisure area.

Also I will have a CCTV system with a NVR that controls my cat6 POE cctv cameras, NVR will be situated in the leisure upstairs.

Now can the EA1 control all these or do I need to step up to the EA3 and EA5?