C4 Forums | Control4

How difficult to re-program EA1 if I get a new AV receiver?

elee532

How big a deal is it to swap AV receiver? My Denon 4520CI receiver just went kaput. I’m trying to decide whether to repair it (at least 3 weeks wait time) or replace it with a different model. I’ve got an EA1 system with a video projector, OPPO Bluray player, Nvidia Shield/IRUSB, and PC with Kodi app. 

How big of a re-programming project am I looking at if I get a new receiver? Is re-programming easier if I stick with Denon?

Thanks!

I do not recommend going with IR control even using SDDP they still fall offline and have issues, nothing is going to be more reliable than IR (unless of course the IR emitter falls off, which can be easily prevented with IR covers). In my opinion RS-232 is the way to go.The only reason I say this is because I’m in the field every day and I see it all the time. I’ve been programming Control4 for over 13 years now so I see this a ton. To answer your question, it should take less than 10 minutes.

@chopedogg88, I was literally reading up on the 3400 when you posted this. 🙂 Sounds like this could be a good option. My only real requirements are IP controlable, 2 sub outputs, 5 channel pre-outs, audyssey MultiEQ XT32. That 3400 looks like the least expensive option that ticks all those boxes.

So glad to hear it’s not a huge re-programming job!! That being the case, I am going to see my local dealer and see if I might find one in stock tomorrow. Then, hopefully I can get my 4520ci repaired and sell it to recoup some of my costs.

Stay tuned.

Also, I got a reply from C4 on my inquiry about the projector issue. I’ll PM you what they said. 

Thanks @chrisparsons1978.   The web page for the 3400H I’m looking at notes: