C4 Forums | Control4

Control4 & Sky Q Compatibility

Is Control4 compatible with Sky Q?

I may have jumped the gun when ordering my Sky Q. I think it may not be compatible as Sky Q says devices must be HDCP 2.2 compatible.

Current Setup:

My setup was installed by a professional installer so I'm not that familiar with it. I have Sky HD which appear to be connected to a BlueStream (4-way 4k HDBaseT splitter) via HDMI which I'm assuming then connects to my Control4 Controller HC 800 box. This then distributes the video round the house via Ethernet.

As Sky Q 'requires' HDCP 2.2 will Sky Q still pump Ultra HD to the TVs on my setup? Anyone else have a similar setup with Sky Q?

Thanks!

Hi Gary,

Thanks for the advice and the link. I'm a bit of a novice at this as you can probably tell - is the driver simply to allow remote control of Sky Q or is it required for the video feed too?

Installing drivers etc is daunting. I dont really want to pay the original installers to do it as they charge an absolute fortune... I dont suppose you have a link to an install guide do you?

Many thanks

Ian

On 7/7/2018 at 6:53 PM, Gary Leeds UK said:

Sky Q will not be touched by Control4 for Video - its only your Bluestream you need to worry about

You will need a Driver for Sky Q which can be bought from https://www.drivercentral.io/platforms/control4-drivers/skyhd-skyq-uk-control4-driver-chowmain/

Unless you are already using this Driver with HD Box 

As Gary mentions our driver will control your SkyQ box.  You will need to connect your SkyQ box upto the Blustream box and Control4 will tell Blustream where to send the signal.  Your profressional installer will do all of this so no need to worry.  Here is an example of what the user interface will look like once its installed.

SkyGuide.gif

On 7/7/2018 at 10:07 AM, CarlitosWayUK said:

Hi Gary,