C4 Forums | Control4

Video Storm vs. Just Add Power

rf9000

Guys,

I'm looking at these two for distributed video and wanted to get everyone's thoughts on pros and cons for these Video over IP systems. I'm leaning towards the Video Storm product just because they seem very easy to use. Its my understanding that they use the existing network switch and don't require a separate managed switch. I also like the fact that the decoders/receivers at each TV/AVR location can be a simple firestick if need be or can be a Nvidia box, which I would prefer. The JAP equipment is also very nice, but can get very costly when have to buy their receivers for 14+ TVS. Video Storm also sells IR components so that the C4 remotes can be used. You do have to buy a license for each TV at $90 a shot, but its a one time fee. My last reason for leanng towards Video Storm is because I'm also considering buying their 38x38 audio switch. Thoughts?

I've been running Videostorm for several years and through various iterations, from the dedicated video storm decoders to now Netplay Home on some TVs. I have a mix of shields, FireTV 4k sticks and VRX020.  Also use the NAB100 and CMX switch for my distributed audio.  I highly recommend.

I have put this system in at several client locations and they have been solid.  Any issues I've had have been due to training issues on our end, not the equipment.

3 hours ago, rf9000 said:

I have gathered info on this since my post. Does anyone know with JAP if you can use the 2G decoders in most TV locations and then use the 3G (4K) decoders on only 3-4 main tv locations?

yes it can...I explained that when we spoke over the phone this morning but perhaps it was lost in translation.

unless I'm missing something, I don't believe that Video Storm has any 4K encoders, do they?  I only see a 4K decoder on their site.  Most of my clients are going with 4K at this point, so I'm not sure that this is a viable solution for them.

5 hours ago, chopedogg88 said: