C4 Forums | Control4

After six months

read99

(I am reposting something that I posted on another forum)

Hi,

I have been reading this thread and several others for over two years now as we had an old house built in 1890 rehabbed. I want to thank everyone for all the great information. I am posting here to give you some first hand experience with a larger Control4 system. I am not a dealer, installer or even in the industry but do have computer experience from an earlier career. I am also not a DIY person but i am the type that reads everything and likes to understand what i am getting into and always wants to understand the design and issues whether working with architects, general contractors, computer technicians or home autmation installers.

I am not 100% sure why I selected C4 over others but I found an installer that i trusted and the rest is history. I have had some good and bad experiences and will outline below. I did not want to post until we had had 6 six months of experience but I did want share an end use perspective.

My system:

26 zones in house and another 2 to be intalled this spring when our coach house is finished

Gigabyte network wiring throughout all

2 C4 media controllers

2 c4 matrix switches

3 c4 amps

1 c4 multituner (xm to be added soon)

48 port netgear gigabit switch

12 port POE

several C4 control relays for controlling skylights and other items frompanels

12 c4 minitouch ethernet touchpanels

8 stereo headphone jacks (great to put in for when you want the kids to turn it down)

Numerours speakers ranging from RBH in wall to B&W

3 C4 10.5 wireless touchscreens

Several C4 handheld remotes

8 C4 Thermostats for controlling two spacepaks and several zones of radiant heat

Security control

2 Panamax max 1500 ups

2 panamax racmax 8 port power distribution

panamax pro power conditioner

linksys wifi and several linksys extenders

more wiring than i could ever hope to list