C4 Forums | Control4

garage door hookup with I/o

mct

Newbie here. so I run a 22/2 from garage door motor to the relay on an i/o extender, red wire in the com1 and the other wire in the NO or NC?

contacts: one in 12+ and the other in the sig?

how many watts should I put in the window in composser? for the relay?

Relay on C and NO (Normally Open). The relay should close then open again to work like a garage door opener button.

This will not work on all garage door openers, but it should work on most.

Sig and +12V for a contact sensor input.

Watts is pretty much irrelevant, as it's only going to calculate any watts during the time the relay is closed, and that's not really going to be related to the number of watts your opener is actually expending to open or close the door.

RyanE

• 2 months later...

The terminal has four connections (red/white and the other gray/white). I have tried both combinations on each. The older relay/contact extender is connect via IP verified in network tools.

When I connect the I/O with COM/NC and then connect to the Red/white terminal the door activates, but I still cannot get the c4 command to work from a navigator and the hard wired garage door button in the garage will not work.

I had it working before and made some changes some time ago but could not remember if I need to connect it in certain order.

Did you check if the relay itself is actually closing? Should be able to hear it.

If touching a wire across two terminals opens the garage you've got the right ones - another way to check is if you have a wired button and can trace what that is connected to.

While is all depends on the garage door, but keep in mind that it's not impossible you need to connect, say, red to the grey/white to do this.

If you can find out the model you should be able to find an install manual online saying where to wire an opener to, which would also be where you'd wire the relay to.