C4 Forums | Control4

General programming best practices questions

Mr .Flibble

Hello all. I'm a professional programmer with 10 years experience in the various mainstream languages (PERL, C#, Java, JavaScript) but I have only a couple of hours experience programming Control4 systems. I've a couple of questions that I'm sure run through the minds of most developers when they first work with a C4 system.

My main query is about code re-use. I haven't found any way that I can make basic functions/macros/scripts that can be reused. It seems like if I want to do anything twice I need to repeat myself, which isn't great for a number of reasons. Is there a way to make a script/macro/function that can executed from various places?

Secondly, so far I have only discovered the GUI drag and drop method of programming. I presume this get converted to some sort of textual programming language at some point. Is it possible to see the resulting textual code and to program in that directly? Or is the only way to make a program by using the GUI?

Thirdly, are scrips always run sequentially/single threadedly? Here is why I ask. Imagine the following program which turns off all lights but turns on light1 if it's night time for 5 minutes at night time and turns light2 for 5 minutes at any time:

- turn off all lights

- if nighttime

-- turn on light1

-- wait 5 minutes

-- turn off light1

- turn on light2

- wait 5 minutes

- turn off light2

If we can do a parallel branch then the program will work as desired. If we cannot then we have to add in more logic to workaround the extra 5 minute delay which occurs at nighttime.

Thanks in advance for any tips. If anyone can recommend any reading material please point me in the right direction.

1. Code re-use is limited to Copy/Paste. Alternatively, I have created template projects in the past, but I have not done this in a couple years honestly.

2. Programming is only done through the GUI.