C4 Forums | Control4

My finished theater room

Ryan Peddle

Well, I can finally say that the theater section of my basement is finally finished.   It was fully usable approximately 1 year ago, but had finishing touches to be done.   The whole basement still has some work to be done, but the theater viewing area is completed.   It was a 2 year process which I literally did all the work myself except the laying of the carpet for obvious reasons.

I have been doing this as a hobby for 20 years now.   I have adored movies all my life and remember setting up a mono VCR and Commadore 64 computer monitor in my bedroom when I was 15.   Then I got a Toshiba mini stereo system and a stereo VCR and my love grew.   But the key point in time was watching Stargate at my friends house whom had a full Dolby Prologic system in 1995.   I remember hearing sounds coming from behind me and I was hooked.

When I finished highschool, I worked full time for a while and started to build my first serious system.   I started with 4 Paradigm MiniMonitors, CC370, and a PW2200 with a Yamaha receiver.   There were some other systems before this, but this was the benchmark one for me at age 21.   This system stayed with me for a decade.   

Then when I was 29, I found my career at Liptons Audio Video in Newmarket ON.   That is when the true illness of home audio/video took hold.   I started a full system upgrade that included every single part of my system and the thought of finishing my basement for a nice theater room.