C4 Forums | Control4

What kind or brand of wires do you use for your speaker wire runs?

Jeffrey

Hello,

I am a noob looking to centralize my audio equipment in a rack in my basement and I am interested as to what you use for your speaker wire runs.  Just plain old 16 gauge copper speaker wire or maybe some expensive insulated and protected type wire?  I know some speaker wire can be obscenely expensive as well as bulky.  Do you use a wall plate in the room to make the final room connections?  

Thanks,

Jeff

Something like this with an outer jacket. Stay away from the old clear radio shack junk. Also make sure it is pure copper and not coated aluminium. Depends on whether to plate or do rough in rings based on the speakers being used

https://www.snapav.com/shop/en/snapav/speaker-wire/binary-trade%3B-cables-16-gauge-2-conductor-65-strand-speaker-wire---1000-ft-nest-in-box-(white)-nst-162-1000-wh

The suggestion of 16/4 to a room and splitting it is a good one, especially if it’s a retrofit.

I use WestPenn wire. It’s damn good wire, and I can get scraps (pieces less than 200-300 feet are considered scraps by a buddy who does big commercial work) for free. Copper, stranded, 16/2 is what I ran for my distributed audio.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks for the helpful info everyone. 

When I bought my equipment years ago from an AV house by me, I was bugging the salesman to throw in some speaker cable.  He finally just gave me some saying something about this was demo and not in the inventory.  Well I googled it yesterday, it is from Tara Labs and is like $100 a foot!!  Now I don't have enough of this stuff to make the runs from my AV cabinet to my room, but I would have enough for one speaker.  Maybe I will do the center channel with this.  

Do you guys use a wall plate to make connection into the room - the kind that you can put banana plugs into?

Thanks again!

Jeff