C4 Forums | Control4

Innovative

Any suggestions on integrating plexus into C4?

Should I use a roku or third party to integrate it?  

I am new to plex ... I am familiar with what it does but want to make it simple for my wife & two kids.  

My thoughts from what I read is  1st option use roku......and a video matrix to TV's (if tv is to be used) then I am able to use roku on the matrix 2nd option  use roku on each tv>>>third option matrix the controller download a flex driver and use the navigator on the tvs?  

Any thoughts?

we almost exclusively use plex (via @alanchow's drivers) with roku in all of our media-enabled rooms. as Matt mentioned above, roku is the best experience as we've tried it on several other platforms with less success.

regarding distribution, we ended up dropping a roku 3 or roku stick on all of our "secondary" rooms in the house, but still controled by c4. even in the area where we have a matrix we have a roku as an input tied to each room so we can watch different things. we have the option to join the rooms together into a makeshift media scene, but having one for each display is a good way to go for our use case.

What makes Roku better than other similar options, say AndroidTV on a Shield or Apple TV?
Android and apple and many others have all messed around with control. Independence of Roku has meant they have continued to play nice with integrators.
Direct channel access is awesome.