C4 Forums | Control4

Anyone using Popcorn Hour NMT?

phiction4

I'm thinking about adding the PH A-110, but I wanted to know if anyone has used or is using it. It looks like a neat product. With that said, does anyone know if there are drivers available? I was talking to someone about coming in and installing it and he telling me that PH is not supported by C4 and in order for him install it he would have to build new drivers, reprogram my system and reconfigure my firewall and some other stuff. Overall, his quote was for 5 hours? The PH only costs $250. I might be crazy and cheap (I've been accused of being worse) but it doesn't make sense to spend $500+ to add a $250 device.

I don't care about adding the PH media into the C4 GUI, it would be nice but I don't care if I

Does what this guy is proposing sound right? I've never worked with him before (my original installers, Tweeter, went out of business) so I don't know if this guy is trying to hose me. I have my opinions. I am a Cisco network engineer by profession so I don't need nor will I have this guy touch my network or firewall and I doubt he has any ASA experience anyway.

Lastly, if you using PH are you using the plugins like YAMJ? Do you like YAMJ?

Well $400 gets you the device integrated (EVA-9150 from Netgear) - but all it's going to do is give you a "NAME" company that has programmers in house developing for it... vs. the PCH which uses a 3rd party company that doesn't listen to it's users for new features.

Trust me when I tell you - go with the EVA... I was the biggest advocate for PCH until this guy came out... for the extra $150 it's worth it! I've been so upset with the PCH people for not listening or wanting to work with Control4. It's a good box - but you'll be happier with the Netgear.

OH - and FYI - "I" wrote the PCH driver - and it is in the dealer forums at Control4 - so no - you're guy does NOT have to write a driver for it. Plus - if you go with the EVA - that driver is also written...