C4 Forums | Control4

sonos,speaker points,hi-end sound quality

Enthusiast

I know that the sonos thing has been hashed and rehashed on this forum but here goes. I obviously have sonos. I'm having a really hard time letting it go. The convenience offered to me by control 4 as a one stop shop for control is great. I have played with the music integration for control4 and lackluster comes to mind. Sonos is faster, more flexible and it doesn't crap out. Just for reference I am using the music feature of control4 on an hc300. Has anyone been successful in making a driver for sonos? If so how much did it cost? Also I don't see how you could have discrete volume control through control4 if you have a highend audio setup. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. The lack of marriage between these two products is disheartening to say the least.:/

Hi. You are incredibly welcome on this forum!

I've been beating the drum on this one for nearly 12 months now! So much so they are sick of me :rolleyes:

Don't ditch Sonos. Keep it. Whilst we wait for a driver and proper integration..

1/ Run the 2 platforms independantly and bring the control together onto an iphone/itouch....whilst waiting to:

2/ Do the same on a mac/pc (when someone writes a C4 software/IP controller)...whilst waiting for:

3/ Can I be bold enough to add the "codeman" has promised to look into writing a C4 driver for Sonos when the more flexible version 2.0 of C4 is released. ...:D

He is a really good and helpful guy. Maybee if enough of us "rattled the tin" (there are a few Sonos fans lerking on this forum), it would really happen.

I'd be happy to paypal someone a starter of say $500 to get the ball rolling :P, with the fallback that if they couldn't get it to eventuate, I'd buy some second hand C4 gear off them at a later date....