C4 Forums | Control4

New Installer/New House

papimata

Hello, I am a brand new certified installer of C4 equipment.

Have yet to do my first install as my company is currently

working on bids to get us some projects as our company

is mainly an electrical installer and not so much an audio/visual

company. (We usually hire them as subcontractors).

I am a licensed journeyman electrician, who has worked on

control type circuitry. However, as I am new to home automation

as well as audio/video circuitry I would like to pick the

heads of you veteran installers as what I should do as far as

running conduit as well as speaker wires and to where exactly

in a given room.

I would like to put the flat screen on what is now labeled as the

dining room wall in my floor plan. I would also like to put a

smaller flat screen above the fire place in the family room

opposite of the kitchen. The family room will now be the new

dining room. I am thinking of making the kitchen/dining area

into an audio zone with 4 in ceiling speakers. In wall speakers

beside the small flat screen above the fire place. The home

theatre area would have in wall surround speakers and perhaps

in wall subwoofer center channel speaker. The rears will be on

either side of the room. The living room I want to make a zone

with two larger in ceiling speakers with in wall speakers above

the fire place in that room. Another zone for the front patio

and a zone for the rear patio.

The loft will be above the detached garage. I will run a couple

pipes between the two buildings and of course cameras.

Now that I kinda know what I need or want does anyone out

there have some time to give me some advice? What would work

as far as conduit if I should even use it as well as what gauge

and type of speaker wire. Power wires should of course stay

away from signal wire, any other words of wisdom out there?

Thanks for taking the time to get thru the long read.