C4 Forums | Control4

C4 basic came with the house, want to admin it myself

Hi,

I'm new to all things C4, it came with the place we bought but I'd like to do some basic admin work myself. I did a bit of research a while ago and came across some home admin software that I could buy. 

My controller version is 3.1.3 and it's been off for months. Tablet has been off and in the cupboard for months now but keen to give it another go. Can someone help with the software / license required?

Thanks

I have access to my customer portal and I can renew. I'm happy to do it but only if it's worthwhile. The tablet thing doesn't even connect to the system at the moment, I couldn't add any additional components before I put it all away. I'm curious about re-licensing and using it vs using homeassistant

You don’t need a 4site lic. for use on most of the local system.  It would be helpful if you gave more information on whats all part of your Control4 system, but you will not get any support for Composer Pro here,  just the client based programming support.  HA is a far more capable system but involves much more work/support on the client end. 

15 minutes ago, Control4Savant said:

HA is a far more capable system but involves much more work/support on the client end. 

HA is a *different* system.  "Far more capable" unless, of course, you want to do multi-room audio and video.  The go-to for Audio / Video control for HA has traditionally been the Harmony Remote, which is a discontinued and unsupported product.

Not sure I agree with "more capable" even for non-AV cases, but there are certainly things HA can do that Control4 doesn't handle terribly well (graphing, 3rd-party ZWave device support, etc.).  HA's custom UI is HTML-based, which has pros and cons.  The biggest con is you have to design it yourself.

RyanE

6 minutes ago, RyanE said: