C4 Forums | Control4

Rgbw tape lights

Hello,

New to those forum so would like to say hello. I'm pretty new to control4 , and looking for information on how to do my first rgbw tape light project. I have 4 areas of tape . 3 areas are in a coffered ceiling , amd the last in a kitchen undercounter , and upper cabinets with glass doors. 

I've run many ccts using lv undercabinet lighting but confused on wiring setup with drivers and decoders . If anyone has any pointers or a guide to point me I  the right direction would be awesome. 

I'd recommend using Shelly RGBW2. The modules are cheap, easily accessible and you can use any LED strips with it.  Wiring is also easy. 

Furthermore, our driver is also fairly cheap and heavily utilised in the market, has colourwheel support and Shelly supports a wide variety of products

https://drivercentral.io/platforms/control4-drivers/lighting/shelly-suite/

What country are you located in? Different countries have different recommended brands (some US brands such as American Lighting for instance aren't available in Australia or other countries, and Kasta isn't available in USA). It also really depends how complicated you want things, and how much to spend. 

I can advise on the shelly driver, as I actually wrote this one (keep in mind, this is the CHOWMAIN Shelly driver, as there is another driver which was added to DriverCentral recently with a similar name, which is made by a different company, and has different capabilities). Keep in mind, whilst it isn't mentioned in the title, Internet is not required to use the drivers (cloud support is used exclusively to enhance the drivers)

I'm located in Canada. So essentially I could use one of these and add a switch leg  to 12-24v driver then go to the Shelly unit and have rgbw control. While adding you mentioned driver . ?

Thanks for commenting . 

19 minutes ago, Deves said: