C4 Forums | Control4

Remote Car Starter Interface

Big_D73

Crazy question for you all - have any of you tied Control4 into a remote car starter, allowing you to say, start a car or open the trunk, from a Touchscreen in the kitchen (or where ever) as you are getting ready for work? Or, how about installing a card access contact sensor in the car (in conjunction with the remote starter) for two-way confirmation that the car is started in case you can't see it from the house? I think this could lead to interesting possibilities for "complete automation"......

Actually, building the interface, and programming it should be easy enough, I was just wondering if it had already been done. I've already modified the remote for the car starter, just waiting for the power supply to get here, then time to connect it to an I/O extender, and program it... (I am an ex- custom car installer as well) If anyone is interested, I can send photos, etc... The thought of tying a car into a C4 system is intriguing to me - imagine your car automatically locking itself if left in the driveway overnight, but not if it is in the garage, or owner-specific lighting and media scenes executing as you pull into the driveway as well as your entry door unlocking when you pull in, without you actually having to "do" anything...

What do you folks on here think?

I think James Bond...

Than again, maybe an automatic starter isn't such a good idea if our better halves leave the car in gear and the handbrake off... :cool:

And new makes of cars have automatic door locking after a set time anyway....

As for entry scenes, it might be way easier to tie them into sensing garage opening...

Just some thoughts...