C4 Forums | Control4

Remote to recognize which room your in

jedi7001

jedi - buy more remotes ;)

probably zigbee can identify the closes switch to remote and link it to the room remote is in

If you have more then one remote you can have the remotes programmed so that only the room the remote is in shows up as being controlled.

GoGo Delicious

GoGo

Where can i find remote programming? I dont see that as an option in Composer

I have the dealer version of composer 1.3.1.114. If you have the dealer version you will want to do the following

1) Open Composer

2) Select "System Design"

3) Select the the room you DO NOT want to show up in the remote

4) In the "Properties" paine slect the "Navigator" Tab

5) In the "Menu Settings" check the "Hide Room in Location Menu"

Note that I am NOT a programmer, dealer, installer. I happen to have a source for the dealer version of composer. The above instructions worked for me they may or may not work for you. I would actually ask your dealer about the above. If there are any dealers reading chime in and let me/us know if this is correct or not. Like I say . . it works for me.

GoGo Delicious.

I personally think that this option would add a lot of cost to the remote, as well as making it considerably harder to setup, etc.

Since we don't have 'location-ing' functionality with proximity sensors, etc., the remotes don't cost nearly as much, so you can afford to purchase another few for different rooms...

RyanE

Now guys....its is a "wishlist". I know this wounds far fetch but there are several times i use a remote in several different rooms. For example, I take a remote with me outside by the pool (oh ya, new wishlist item, waterproof remote for pool), I will walk outside and have to change rooms, or when I go in and out when I am BBQ'ing.....I usually carry one remote with me. I know, if money was no object, I would have 15 remotes for all rooms in my home. It was just a thought.