C4 Forums | Control4

Yahoo (MusicMatch) Jukebox...

HamletRL

I don't know if this topic is better posted under "Wishlist" or "Troubleshooting"...

I enjoy listening to Yahoo's Music Jukebox (which apparently purchased MusicMatch Jukebox) at my computer. I have a subscription and love the ability to pick any artist, any genre, etc and play it without having to download the individual tracks. I purchased a Control4 system with the idea that I could take that music and play it in any to the seven zones I have in the house/pool. The technician connected a line from the Control4 rack to my Creative Labs SoundBlaster controller and we get an awful humm. His explanation is that the distortion is due to the power phase. He suggested running another power line, but no guarantees that this would solve it.

However, he successfully set up a shared folder and was able to play music stored on my PC throughout the house, i.e. the digital-transfer approach. Unfortunately, playing off another storage device, when I just purchased an 80GB storage device I'll never fill, is not what I want.

I've never had an original thought in my life. Isn't there a way to play subscription-service music through Control4?

Thanks.

Rick

Do you mean you are hearing the music from the Soundblaster but there's also an awful hum? Or that there's just the awful hum?

If it's music with a hum then you would want to look at options such as changing the volume output on the PC and the gain on the aplifier. The soundcard may have a line-level output (i.e. not subject to the PC's volume control) but I think most of them are headphone outputs where the volume control on the PC will determine the level of the sound coming out of the card. In this case, if the volume on the PC is very low and you're having to amplify it a lot on the C4 end, then any slight hum or buzz will also get amplified. On my machine it generally helps to have the volume on the PC higher and amplify it less.