C4 Forums | Control4

Control4 - Python Lighting

saagar91

Hello,

I'm working on writing a Python library to do what navigator can do. With the use of Python many complex functions could be achieved.

Currently, I have lighting implemented. The description is in my blog:

http://theengineeringguy.blogspot.com/2014/03/control4-set-lights-with-python.html

The python code is in my git repo:

https://github.com/sapatel91/pyControl4

Also, for anyone who is new to Python I'll consider making a tutorial to set it up if there's interest. I use Eclipse with the PyDev plugin and it works great.

The version of Director I have is 2.1.1.135702

If you have any questions, please ask.

I think you mean do what navigator can do but regardless of terminology good work.

I corrected it. I'm new to the Control4 set up. I've been playing with it for a few days now. It's been hard to find a lot of support online. I found a few guides on SOAP commands, etc. A lot of it was in Lua. I figured I'd do it in Python because there's a plethora of modules also it would be cool to use a Beaglebone or Raspberry Pi to run some macros.

C4SOAP is actual an internal non supported API.  As such you'll pretty much find nothing about it online.  It'll probably be better to write a driverworks driver with a serversocket and communicate to that way.  You'll find you'll get more support from Control4 and there is a slimer chance that an update will break it.

As Alan mentioned, C4Soap is not well documented outside of Control4, but it's certainly available in the current version for this sort of functionality.

Besides my Lua scripts, if you do a search for 'c4soap' on Google, there are a few other libraries that do some limited C4Soap functionality.

None of the libraries out there seem to implement much of the C4Soap protocol, other than SendToDevice, etc.