C4 Forums | Control4

c4 sdk api question

mlls

Hello everyone, I am new in c4 driver developing. Now I am working on smart outlet c4 driver, outlet communicates with c4 controller via zigbee. I write some code and it works, I can switch relay on/off.

I have a few questions about ReceivedFromProxy(idBinding, strCommands, tParams) function:

When I press on/off button on my driver I am always getting SET_LEVEL as strCommand argument and not ON/OFF as I expect ? Why this happens ?

When I press toggle button I am getting TOGGLE as strCommand which  is ok.

Also, i would like to understand the mechanism what generates these commands(ON,OFF,TOGGLE,SET_LEVEL.....) ?

Thanks in advance

Any kind of dimmer / switch driver (i.e. driver that connects to a 'light-type' proxy) can receive SET_LEVEL commands , as well as ON/OFF/TOGGLE commands.

If you've set the <can_dim> capability of your driver to false, you should only receive SET_LEVEL commands with values of 0 and 100, although this is enforced on the client side (Navigator or other UI), so your driver should just assume if you're not dimming that any SET_LEVEL of > 0 is 'on', any SET_LEVEL of 0 is off.

i.e.:

function ReceivedFromProxy(idBinding, strCommand, tParams)

tParams = tParams or {}

if (strCommand == "SET_LEVEL") then

local level = tonumber(tParams["LEVEL"]) or 0

if (level > 0) then

doOn()

else

doOff()

end

end

You can probably ignore RAMP_TO_LEVEL commands, if you're a switch.

RyanE

Thanks RyanE, I handle these commands as you say and it works fine now.

As I say, I am developing a driver for smart outlet which periodically sends average power consumption report over zigbee,

i can receive this report message but I want to display this value on my driver or in property tag ?

Is it possible?  I am modifying light driver