C4 Forums | Control4

Sonos across multiple controllers?

jreinardy

Hi,

I am new to Control 4, just getting my first system set up. So far, I have 2 HC250s each controlling Samsung flat panel TV's and dedicated AV receivers. There is also a 4 zone matrix amp feeding speakers throughout the rest of the first floor. All the hardware is on 2.6 software.

I like the system, but it still has a few holes. One is distribution of my personal music share. To play songs from my Windows PC where my MP3 files are located, the dealer recommended a Sonos Connect. I researched it and liked what it brought in terms of music services in addition to my share, so I agreed. They installed it today, but were unable to distribute the Sonos feed from the main HC250 to the other one upstairs. They said the quality of the music was very poor due to a known issue with Sonos, but that other analog sources would work fine. This makes no sense to me, analog should be analog, correct?

Anyway, comments on what the dealer is telling me or suggestions on a cost effective way to provide access to my music share in the master bedroom would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jim

?!?!

There is more to analogue then just analogue, but you can certainly feed a Sonos Connect into a controller, then stream it across the house to any number of other controllers.

It would mean there's a delay that occurs between what you hear and what the Sonos is outputting (and thus some of the metadata feedback and transport commands) - but as such it works perfectly fine - I'm listening to that exact sort of setup right now.

They said the quality of the music was very poor due to a known issue with Sonos

Say what now?

Hi,

I am new to Control 4, just getting my first system set up. So far, I have 2 HC250s each controlling Samsung flat panel TV's and dedicated AV receivers. There is also a 4 zone matrix amp feeding speakers throughout the rest of the first floor. All the hardware is on 2.6 software.

Jim