C4 Forums | Control4

Legacy controller licensing

xTyD23x

Question

Hi,

I am an installer and pulled an HC-1000 and an HC-300 out of a house to replace with an HC-800 a while back and the customer gave me the 2 old controllers. The HC-300 had a failed power supply and I replaced it. It is now working and the HC-1000 is working as well. Is there a way to get the license working for mobile devices? A friend told me that you cannot even buy a license for these old controllers any more, so you would have to use a system remote to control the system. This is not well documented, so I am confused as to whether or not I can get this working. I also was told that these controllers would not run anything above 2.5.3, but when I connected to them and ran update manager, they were able to both update to 2.8.1.

4 answers to this question

Both the hc300 and hc1000 will upgrade to 2.8.1. However, as a director(master controller) the hc300 will not run well. If at all. The hc1000 will run 2.8.1 fine but will struggle with a lot of zigbee devices and media streams. I have commissioned a hc1000 on 2.8.1 with no issues and is running 5 tv locations and 35 zigbee nodes. And 8 audio zones. However the audio zones are running off of analog sources and one C4 media stream.

As for licenses, you cannot purchase home site any longer. Believe me I have tried.

Hope this helps and have a great night.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Err.

*Installer - should know (have been informed by your company!) that licenses are not available. A 'friend' doesn't have to tell you that. It's also very well documented and in effect for 3 years now. Worst case should be that you'd ask at your company, and get the answer....

*An HC300 cannot run a system above 2.5.3 - that's a hard limitation, it's actually impossible to make it director.