C4 Forums | Control4

EA-5 as audio matrix?

Hi!

I'm new to Control4 and I'm building a new system. Basically I would be powering 4 zones at most.  I was wondering if I could connect each of the 3 audio outputs of the EA-5 directly to a 4 channel amplifier so it would work as an audio matrix. Would it be a good practice? Or it would be better to buy the audio matrix instead?

Thanks in advance!

Hmm.

First:

EA-5 has TWO stereo audio outputs and TWO digital audio outputs.

Second:

A 4 channel amplifier is 4 mono channels so a two ZONE amplfier

Third:

This wouldn't be an audio matrix at all.

Now, the question is what amplifier are you using? If you mean Control4's 4 Zone MATRIX amplifier, this would be a perfectly fine setup. This due to the fact that that amplifier has 2 digital inputs, so it would be dreadfully simple to setup. You'd actually 'lock' the inputs and create a volume controlled 4-zone setup with 4 dedicated audio feeds. Not a problem at all - assuming you do not want sources other than what C4 has built-in. Should you want something like a Sonos added (or any other non-video source) - still not an issue as the EA-5 also sports 2 stereo inputs and 2 digital inputs. Technically it isn't recommended to feed Sonos to a controller, but as long as it is one it should be perfectly fine (it does become a problem once you add more).

If you mean the 4 Zone POWER amplifier, or another 3rd party static (uncontrolled) amplifier, it won't really work. Yes you can feed the digital coax out to a DAC and turn them into stereo, but volume controll won't work properly through almost and DAC, not to mention that it would never match up.

SO to summarize - if you want only audio, and only what the C4 system provides natively or with adding a single Sonos (and perhaps a separate SiriusXM tuner, or a CD player or....) I'd recommend gettinga C4 4 Zone MATRIX amplifier - and your world will keep turning smoothly ;)

• 4 weeks later...