C4 Forums | Control4

Need advice on 4K matrix

RodH

Hi, 

Im new to this.

I have a project with 5 TV's and 1 home cinema. 1 of the TV's has a Bose lifestyle 650 surround sound unit.

The client would like to share content between rooms, my question is do i need the audio downmixing version of the 6x6 4K matrix or not? (can someone please explain the difference)

My thoughts was i could just run the HDMI in the bose zone direct to the TV and then an optical down to the Bose player, and a HDMI direct to the Home Cinema receiver?

thanks in advance.

By the downmixing version, you mean the one with stereo outs? That's only really needed if you want to pump the audio through a distribution system to use stereo ceiling speakers (or similar) in the rooms, or somesuch similar setup.

Assuming your TVs are just using their own speakers, what you said sounds right. You will put the output of the matrix's "balun" into the cinema surround receiver and connect from their to the TV. So the matrix becomes an input to the AVR, the AVR takes care of the surround sound. The other TVs get "baluns" connected straight to HDMI1 (or whatever). I think if the TVs receive a 5.1 signal they'll just pare it down to stereo themselves, rather than causing any EDID problems...

3 hours ago, timbooo said:

By the downmixing version, you mean the one with stereo outs?

NO!!!!

There are three basic lines of switch from Control4/Leaf.

The 'L' series, the regular series and the 'D' series.

The Light series doesn't have audio out

The regular series DOES have audio out but all audio MUST be set to stereo/pcm for it to decode it

The Downmixing series can downmix all current audio encodings (DTS, Atmos, Prologic, etc) to stereo for the analogue outputs, but leaves the HDMI outputs using the encoding

3 hours ago, timbooo said:

I think if the TVs receive a 5.1 signal they'll just pare it down to stereo themselves, rather than causing any EDID problems...