C4 Forums | Control4

Music Services

So - my son is excited about waking up to a certain song/couple of songs every morning. I know that Napster supports this, but it requires a $10/mo subscription (which I used to have for $5/mo, but my credit card expired therefore my account subscription lapsed and I've never renewed it). I have a family subscription to Apple Music. I hate the idea of paying for 2 streaming services that offer nearly identical functionality. Is there another music service that provides the same level of tight, stand alone integration that Napster did but doesn't require me to buy something else?

Or should I just nix my Apple Music subscription in favor of Napster? Or should I just suck it up and pay for both?

1 hour ago, ecschnei said:

Why don't you just load the music on usb or something and just make a local music playlist? I already have a plex server so I just keep some music on it that is our favorites

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

I have terabytes of music from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s. That isn’t what my 12 year old wants to listen to. 

I’ll check out Deezer and Tidal. 

I've just subscribed to both Apple Music and Napster.  Besides the obvious integration advantages for Napster, it has some unique features Spotify, Apple Music, etc. don't have.  I just wish family plan pricing model was competitive.  Don't like sharing playlists with the whole family.

Watch for sales on iTunes cards, you can usually get 20% off and stock up a couple hundred dollars worth at a time, and then you can pay the monthly recurring with those.  That helps some.

If you have to have Apple music, Sonos is probably the best option. You can do basic controls and favorites through C4, but have to use Sonos for specific searches, etc. Of you don’t have to have Apple Music, the native integration services mentioned in this thread are your best option. . 

On 8/1/2019 at 6:32 PM, Dunamivora said: