C4 Forums | Control4

New Control4 system buggy between floors

Deserttech

Hello all - I am brand new to the world of Control4. Went through an authorized dealer to install the Control4 system along with my new home theater. Prior to my install I already had in place Ubiquti network gear consisting of 3 AP in a mesh along with hardwired switches and the security gateway. Also, there is a Wink2 hub in the center of my home and Alexa for controlling devices using voice that are connected to the Wink2.

In my theater room (basement) rack there is a single EA1-V2, running OS2. I also have 2x SR260's and a Z2IO.

Withing 24-36 hours of the installation, the remotes are not able to fully control the equipment in either the theater, or the family room that is directly above the theater. Turning on/off SAT boxes does not work all the time, nor does volume control on the receivers. One attempt to raise the volume in the family room caused the receiver to jump to 100%, causing me to scramble for the receivers OEM remote.

My dealer sent someone out to make adjustments but things are still not right. I was informed it could be interference from my wireless AP's and the zigbee network, or that the Control4 controller is in my enclosed theater rack.

If most everything in my home is wired, is there anyway to have the controller use the wired network, or does it have to create its own mesh, and can my existing network be interferring with it? Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Your controller should be as centrally located as possible. The worst place is the equipment rack typically. Or if you need to leave it there for other reasons (perhaps it is controlling devices in your theater via IR, serial, hdmi), then you probably need to add other devices (Control4 dimmers, keypads, etc) to help boost up your zigbee mesh or even add another controller to act as a zigbee access point (CA-1 is least expensive option for this at $350 msrp).