C4 Forums | Control4

Geofencing

mellie

Question

I am new to C4.  We have built a new home and I am trying to get the most out of all the devices and programming.  I have the home version of composer and and slowly getting acclimated to it.

I am wondering how to geofence, or at least recognizing when I leave or arrive, and trigger certain actions (turn on lights, set AC to X degrees).

Thanks for any info.

melissa

20 answers to this question

Since nobody responded, did you search on Geofencing throughout the forum?  Unfortunately I have tried many solutions and nothing is solid.  There are still a couple of things that others have suggested that I haven't tried, but I'm getting tired of throwing money and time and something that should be a core feature of a HA system and still not getting good results.

If you already have a vera controller, you can add geofence locations on the vera app and then trigger a "virtual switch" in vera to turn on/off.  You can add a Micasa relay driver in Control4 and pair it with the virtual switch in vera.  It works fairly well.  You'll have to do some googling around because the virtual switch plugin in vera doesn't pair with the Micasa relay driver in Control4.  You'll have to manually add a device using the method I'm suggesting you research.

OR.. the easy way is to get an axxess industries contact switch and leave it in your glove box.  When it's in proximity of the zigbee mesh, it comes "online".  When leaving, it's "offline".  You can program against those states.

8 minutes ago, South Africa C4 user said:

I also played with geo location for a while and gave up. I was using Alan’s IFTTT driver And one of the IFTTT services. It worked well but not for opening the gate (which was what I wanted).  Sometimes it was on time, sometimes a couple of minutes late.

IFTTT is not bad either but it's not going to be the best option for that application.  

2 hours ago, Baubas Cat said: