C4 Forums | Control4

control 4 maintenance costs

storm7

I recently bought a home that has control 4 systems. I learned pretty quick that it is bloody expensive to do anything to that system. 

Since, I'm fairly new at c4, I've been doing research and found the composer he version would allow me to do some managing myself. but it seems like I won't be able to add new devices. Is that accurate? I certainly don't want to someone $100 to add a $50 light dimmer switch, or for that matter, everytime I want to add a device. Do I have the right understanding? How are some of you handlling this? Doesn't it get too damn expensive??

I recommend buying HE. No, you cant add devices, but you can do pretty much everything else. Just remember to make back-ups. I've had my system coming up 10 years, and I've added to it greatly over the years.

Annual cost is the cost of 4Sight, periodic updates to the lastest OS, occassional addition of devices and equipment, and fixing what I buggered up in HE (I'm not a techie). 3 of those of course are completely dependent on the user and can vary from $0 to $x. I figure I'm averaging $500/year nowadays. 

If I buy a new switch, I've had the cost of install included (takes minutes) if  I do the programming myself to $10-$20 a switch. If it's fixing my messes, it averages around $100/hour, and it typically takes less than an hour with a good dealer: lots of them on this forum.

The cost of maintaining C4 depends on what you have it doing and how up to date you want it to be  If you are using C4 for AV and you just moved into a house then it may take a few hours of a dealer's time to set up all of your TVs, Cable boxes, AVRs, etc.  Light switches/dimmers take pretty much zero maintenance and don't get obsolete.