C4 Forums | Control4

Wireless APs, Cable Modem, Networking recs and help needed.

I am cutting the cord and switching to all streaming devices and would like input on cable modem and wireless APs. I am a networking noob, I see how my dealer has this presently set up but don't necessarily understand why / seems like could be more efficient.

Wireless Access Points:  I presently have 4 Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-PROs spread around the house, ethernet connections go back to an 8 port switch sitting above the cable modem in a closet.  The Wifi handoff on these is not good. I have 300 mbps internet download but can only get 20mbps or less out of the access points unless I'm right on top of them (and then I can get 100). House is two levels over 5000 sqft. Suggestions? I may want a new router to go with them, see below.

Router: Cable modem currently has a long ethernet run from a bedroom closet to the C4 Rack in a theater room and connects to a dealer installed Nighthawk R7000 router with Wireless turned off. Doesn't this make it a glorified switch? There is pakedge 16 port switch in the rack and it's full. This router sits in the rack and connects to the C4 controller and some other components. Seems like I could replace this router with a switch in the rack and move the router (or get a new router) and put it out in the open with Wireless turned on and then spread some APs around in other areas.

Cable Modem: I also want to buy a cable modem and stop leasing one from Xfinity for $14/mo. I am looking at a Nighthawk by netgear that can do cable and voice. I am in US and have xfinity and this seems compatible. Is there something else I should look for? Cable modem presently has Wireless turned off by my c4 installer and is located in a wall box in an upstairs closet so not a good place for wif coverage anyway.