C4 Forums | Control4

DriverEditor? Software required to create Driver using UDP protocol.

kgav

Hi, I'm a software developer and I mostly work on I.T projects adding corporate network monitoring platforms .
I regularly get pulled into more AV centric installations and now I have been tasked with preparing a driver for an end client who uses Control 4 for his boardroom VC system. 
I'm hoping to create a new driver for a simple audio pre amplifier which responds to UDP strings. Mute and Volume controls. There is no existing driver for the unit.

I am proficient with Savant Profiler and Crestron driver creation but I don't have C4 experience yet so i need to get up to speed.
I would like to know what software tools I need to create a custom driver for the C4 platform. Please advise.

It looks like I need Composer Pro and DriverEditor software suites. Am I on the right path here please?:)

• kgav changed the title to DriverEditor? Software required to create Driver using UDP protocol.

On 2/25/2021 at 10:20 AM, kgav said:

Great so do C4 have a route in for developers only without actually being a conventional Dealer / integrator? 
I will enquire on their website about how this works.

Thanks

That's an interesting question.  I have asked about this as I am a hobbyist who has tried to write a few drivers but it is hard to test your drivers without having Composer Pro, and you can't get Composer Pro unelss you are a dealer. They never responded to my emails - but that was a few years ago.

On 2/24/2021 at 4:55 PM, kgav said:

Hi, I'm a software developer and I mostly work on I.T projects adding corporate network monitoring platforms .
I regularly get pulled into more AV centric installations and now I have been tasked with preparing a driver for an end client who uses Control 4 for his boardroom VC system.