C4 Forums | Control4

Using Control4 switches with other controllers

Yam

Hello, I'm new to Control4 and smart homes in general, so please forgive my ignorance!

I just purchased a home from a fellow who had a Control4 system set up in the house.  All of the light switches appear to be Control4 branded, as well as the thermostat.  There is a managed gigabit network switch with Cat5 running all over the house.  If I don't want to use Control4 (due to cost, complexity, and the closed nature of the system), is there an alternative hub system that will work with the existing switches and thermostat (Google Nest, Alexa, HomeKit, etc.)?

Many thanks for getting me started!

though not possible, there is no on going cost to use lighting in C4 and HVAC in c4.  so maybe you do not want to add audio, video, etc to the system, but it will remain working for lighting.  Oh and C4 works with Alexa, you can tell it to turn lights on/off.  The biggest on going cost for Alexa, and if you want to access your lights when off your home network is $99/year for 4sight (comes with a lot of other stuff too).  and if you are technically inclined you can buy Composer Home Edition - 1x fee of $149 and includes 1 year of 4sight so really like $50 for the software - you can do 95% of the programming a dealer can do.  You cannot add hardware to the project but you can pretty much program/customize the system in great detail using Composer Home Edition

The other option - right out the lighting/controllers and put them on ebay and/or the used section here to help fund your next tech purchase to replace these products.

Depending how many dimmers you have around the house it might actually be cheaper to just stick with C4 and pay some one to modify as needed.