C4 Forums | Control4

Controlling remote lighting loads ?

TundraSonic

Small garden shed about 200' from the house. The shed has 120v power and a switch (Ubiquiti 8 port POE) off the house network. What are good options for dimmer control of three 120v lighting loads?

- Two of the loads are exterior fixtures that require 120v clear lamps so LIFX and Hue are not good options.

- Am I thinking correctly that w/ Casetta we'd need both a bridge + EA/CA in that building?  Or should the main EA-5 be able to see the remote bridge? I'm new to Casetta so not sure how the C4 to bridge communicates.

Other options?

Thanks,

TP-Link work just fine.  Just be aware that while on/off/dim will be instantaneous, feedback on state will lag behind.  That's because the driver will be polling for state only every 10 seconds +.  In other words, the touchscreen will show the light as off for a few seconds, even after you turn it on.  Not really an issue for your use case.

The driver for TP/Kasa is from Chowmain and is easy to set up and robust, assuming that you have solid wi-fi.  The switches use a 2.4 network, not 5 GHz.

Currently just RA for shades. We're installing Casetta for lighting loads in our studio (separate building but same network) and also Casetta's in our house for landscape lighting. For landscape the Casetta's will be installed in the mechanical room with tails dropped outside for the landscape folks to connect their xformers.

Central dimmers are all C4 (I'd wanted Lutron but got a deal on the C4).

On 9/24/2021 at 10:16 AM, OceanDad said:

Just be aware that while on/off/dim will be instantaneous, feedback on state will lag behind.  That's because the driver will be polling for state only every 10 seconds +.  In other words, the touchscreen will show the light as off for a few seconds, even after you turn it on.  Not really an issue for your use case.