C4 Forums | Control4

URC remotes vs. C4 SR-250?

szz743

Hi,

I'm about to decide C4 or not C4. This may sound weird but the only thing that still confuses me is the C4 remote.

I've been using URC remotes for a few years (currently MX-950) and really really like the ergonomics, button layout, charger base.

Unfortunatelly I cannot compare URC and SR-250 since I'm not in US and the only local dealer does not have them at all now.

I hope somebody who used/uses MX-900/950/980 and C4 remote can tell me that he likes SR-250 better.

Looking at the SR-250 picture I don't like the layout around "cursor" buttons, "play", "pause" group layout, basically all the major buttons. The buttons looks kind a small.

Is C4 remote better than I think it is? I haven't found any bad comments about it so I hope it's not that bad.

And one more question - as far as the dealer told me there is no way to integrate URC remotes and devices with C4.

URC got RF remotes, base stations, etc. but the problem is that you cannot control C4 controllers via IR or IP or RS232, only limited set of functionality is available and it's impossible to control everything as with C4 remote.

Is that correct? Is there is a way to use URC remotes with C4?

thanks!

If you want to add an MX-950 and a base station to your setup let me know. I have a used 950 sitting in a cabinet I need to sell. My dealer gave me a copy of the software that will update the IR codes as well which I'm happy to send with the remote.

I did a cost benefit of adding the URC equipment to my system vs. adding an HC300 and SR250s and with with control4. It's truely an apples and oranges comparisson between C4 and URC, but I haven't run into anything I wanted to control with C4 that I could have controlled with the URC system. Going to control4 was definately more expensive than adding the equipment needed to use the URC system, but for me it seemed like the better way to go.