C4 Forums | Control4

Properties[] returning nil

jcdammeyer

Hi,

I'm really new at this so I may have just mucked something up. Last night (more like 1:30AM) I had the touch screen sending text messages out the serial port to my custom LED light. This morning I went back in to start enhancing things and suddenly I'm getting this sort of error message.

p1

p2 (nil) failed to find -->Send Light 1 ON

[string "Lua Code"]:204: attempt to concatenate local 'message' (a nil value)

I'm using the generic RS232 driver from Alan Chow. I've modified the lua code to add debug statements so I can figure out why it's suddenly broken. The Properties page of the Generic Lighting Driver shows Hex/Ascii as Ascii and the code makes it through that test.

Then, it dies here:

if (Properties["Hex/Ascii"] == "Hex") then

packetToSend=tohex(Properties["Send Light " .. i - 5000 .. " ON"])

else

print("p1")

packetToSend=Properties["Send Light " .. i - 5000 .. " ON"]

if (packetToSend == nil) then

print("p2 (nil) failed to find -->" .. "Send Light " .. i - 5000 .. " ON")

else

packetToSend=string.gsub(packetToSend, "<cr>", "\r\n")

end

end

In the Lua Command window

if (Properties["Send Light 1 ON"] == nil) then

print("Nil Properties reference")

else

print(Properties["Send Light 1 ON"])

end

outputs "Nil Properties reference"

So although the Properties screen shows the text and has ascii data to be sent the table Properties[] seems to not have these as indices. What am I doing wrong? It used to work.

Thanks

John

John, I can't help you fix this, but I can tell you that it sounds cool.

If you can get it working, I would love a further explanation as to exactly what it will do for you, and would love to possibly try it out in my project.

Good luck getting it working...