C4 Forums | Control4

.c4i file not being read

element05

Hi,

I am brand new to c4 and am trying to write a driver to communicate with an automated blinds system via serial. I have read the Control4 DriverWorks SDK - Getting Started Guide and have analysed the template .c4i file called DriverWorks_232_GettingStarted.c4i . Everything seems to make sense however when I try to make my own .c4i file and put it in the C:\Users\Documents\Control4\Drivers directory, the driver does not show up in Composer. The only way I can seem to make a new driver that will show up in Composer is if I use the Composer Driver Wizard which does not give me enough freedom to design the specific driver I want. I have tried making a driver with the wizard and then opening the .c4i file it creates and editing it but I have had no luck. Little changes like changing from 9600 baud to 1200 baud will show up in composer but adding sections like properties does not show up at all. I feel like I have hit a wall in my progress. If anyone has any advice I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

You likely have an error in your xml. Does it validate?

Also, Composer only reads the driver files when it initially starts up. If you make changes, you have to restart Composer to see if the driver loads.

RyanE

Hi,

Thanks for the responses. I have tried restarting composer and still no luck. The XML is fine formatting wise. Someone has suggested that because I am using Windows 7 the way files are stored might be different than what Composer is expecting. Is this a possibility?

i am with ryan. editors like xml editor are ok, BUT some errors are inherent in drivers themselves that these editors will not show. if an underscore is incorrect in a proxy name your hosed. if you forget a comma after an ip or serial command you lose every command after that. if you forget a < or a > an editor might not catch it.