C4 Forums | Control4

New Construction - Security, Cameras, Audio & Video - Recommendations?

msu

Hello,

I'm new to the Control 4 forums and the concept.

I am in the process of building my home (in Michigan) and have contacted several dealers in the area.

Initially I got the Security System and Camera Systems quoted by Security Companies.

I then found out about home automation and would like to go that route.

The issue is that I have contacted three different levels of dealers trying to get a more detailed understanding of things but have got three different responses as to what equipment would be required.

So I thought maybe I could ask here and get a majority opinion and then tell them what I want quoted as I've wasted nearly 3 weeks of time trying to get proposals with no consistency and my house is just sitting idle now.

The house Living Area is 4,409 square feet.

I plan to turn a workshop area (476 square feet) into a Theater Room in a few years (so, plan for expansion).

I would like whole home audio and video integration from a central access point. As well as security system integration.

I would like any user location to be able to scroll through the audio or video library saved digitally to a hard drive and play their own individual content. I would also like the TV to be distributed as well (satellite through Dish Network). I have Blu-ray players and the televisions already bought (Sony & LG TV's, Sony, Samsung and Pansonic Blu-Rays to choose from). Lastly, I am a computer geek so I have a server that I could integrate from my understanding but depending on what dealer you speak with this is or is not possible.

I am also considering to automate lighting as well.

Zones For Audio:

12 zones to start with - possibly 4 more in the future

Zones for Video (max 1080p):

6 to start with - possibly 6 more in the future

Cameras:

10 Cameras mounted outdoors for viewing around the property (current quotes are based on analog 75 - 90 foot IR range).