C4 Forums | Control4

Programming Flashing Lights

byronomo

Is there a way to do the following using Composer HE without creating a loop?

Anytime a certain door (with C4 contact) is opened, flash a certain light on/off until the door is closed. Then return that light to the state that it was in before the door was opened.

If so, any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Loop? I'm not aware of any "loop" command within CHE. Set-up a repeating timer. Watch the door and start the timer based on door state. Upon expiration of timer, re-evaluate door state and make a decision to stop timer and resume last known setting (use a variable to track light level, that is if variables works for you) or execute a Programming Control STOP.

Your flash interval won't be exact as the processor has to prioritize operations but I've done 0.5Hz with good results.

Set-up a repeating timer.

Thank you for your response. I'm fairly new at this, so I apologize if my question is a bit basic.....Does a repeating timer basically keep running in the background? If so, does this affect controller performance?

Main reasons:

1) Really easy to hang Director if you don't get the loop right

2) With timers available, there aren't many programming situations where loop is needed.

I have loops available in ComposerPro, and a fairly extensive project, and I don't believe I have *any* programming that uses the loop construct.

RyanE

Main reasons:

1) Really easy to hang Director if you don't get the loop right

2) With timers available, there aren't many programming situations where loop is needed.

I have loops available in ComposerPro, and a fairly extensive project, and I don't believe I have *any* programming that uses the loop construct.

RyanE

Tx Ryan. That makes sense. My dealer programmed a couple of loops in my project for my alar

Sensor state - once a door is opened an announcement plays til the alarm is turned off. I thought this was normal.