C4 Forums | Control4

Serial driver issue with discrete command macros

Hi,

I'm new to C4.

I'm trying to write a serial driver using Composer's driver editor. My receiver offers discrete input and volume control. I've added the six inputs. To assign serial commands to the inputs there should be a macro offered for each inputs. There must be another macro for the 'discrete volume' offering the 'LEVEL' parameter. However, what macros are offered appears to be random. I've had about ten attempts to create the driver by now. Each time different macros were offered. Sometimes none at all, other times there were macros for the inputs but not for the volume, a third time everything was there and also worked fine for a while but later the input control stopped working. I went back and checked the driver and yes, the corresponding macros were missing ...

Has some of you experienced something like this? I'd be happy to hear that I'm missing something before I start hacking the XML file instead of using the built-in driver editor.

Thanks,

You can't use the driver wizard to write or edit a serial driver. It has to be done using the SDK guidelines.

You can. On the second screen of the Driver Wizard you are asked whether IR or a serial driver is what you want to create. However it only supports creating one-way drivers. It is even pretty powerful if you don't need to go two-way. It supports ASCII, hexa, decimal and it is also possible to mix the formats. It is even possible to embed a parameter into a serial sequence. I want to use it for embedding my 'volume level' into a discrete volume control command.